Song of the Week: “Rolling in the Deep”

By now, you’ve probably heard something about British soul singer Adele. Everyone’s in a tizzy about her new record, 21, and the glowing reviews keep piling up.

I’ve only listened to half of the album so far… and that’s probably because I keep repeating the opening track, “Rolling in the Deep”.  I know it’s only March, but this has to be a contender for vocal performance of the year. Holy hell – can this woman SING! The power and technique that Adele wields in the chorus is un-freakin’-believable, switching from a throaty wail to a high falsetto with total ease.

And how nice is it to hear an actual, live band backing a pop singer? It’s hard to imagine the song without those dramatic piano chords and drums driving it forward.

2 thoughts on “Song of the Week: “Rolling in the Deep”

  1. Such a good song! I also have it on repeat. Have you made it through the rest of the album yet? What are your thoughts on it?

    • Hey Amara – sorry for the late reply! I’ve heard the entire album once or twice now. My snap judgement is that it has some flaws; the ballads seem kind of generic and I’m also not in favour of people covering The Cure (Adele does a lounge-y version of “Lovesong”). But overall, I think it has some really strong moments. Aside from “Rolling in the Deep”, I’d say my favourite tracks are probably “He Won’t Go”, “I’ll be Waiting” and “Rumour Has It.”

      I’d be curious to hear your take on it. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

