Tame Impala

The boys of Tame Impala are in no hurry

At the moment, I’m really diggin’ a band from Perth, Australia called Tame Impala. They’re clearly influenced by the psychedelic rock of the mid to late 60’s, when reverb-heavy vocals, fuzzy guitar tones and phaser effects reigned supreme. If I could narrow it down to a couple of obvious reference points, I’d probably say “Strawberry Fields Forever”-era Beatles with a bit of Cream or Love sprinkled in.

There’s no standout song on their debut, Innerspeaker – it’s best heard in its entirety. But “Lucidity” seems pretty representative of the overall sound:

Plus, you have to love the stoner album art, hey?

Listening to these guys got me thinking back to some of those other classic psych-rock singles of yore, like “8 Miles High” by The Byrds and “White Rabbit” by Jefferson Airplane. And of course, much time was wasted on You Tube:

That’s quite the chapeau on David Crosby, huh? Apparently, the height of fashion in 1967 was looking like you just escaped from a Siberian prison.

And speaking of fashion, how cool was Jefferson Airplane front woman Grace Slick? I covet all those crazy ensembles she used to wear:

Final note for Vancouver readers: Tame Impala are scheduled to play the Biltmore on December 9th.

3 thoughts on “Tame Impala

  1. All I can say is – I can’t wait to be in Vancouver to see bands that are actually pretty popular down here in Australia, perform in tiny clubs like the Biltmore, for probably not very much money at all. It’s going to be awesome!

  2. To be honest, I am so out of the loop when it comes to new music. It’s iPod touch’s fault! I’m satisfied with my current playlist, so I get bogged down listening to the same tracks over and over. I need to start listening to Triple j (our government-run indie radio station) in order to get hip to the new scenesters. And for the record – I am loathe to admit this, but it’s true – I tend to lean towards girly, folksy sounds. I know – I should harden the fuck up, huh?

Leave a Reply

